And so it begins

I was the last person I knew to get a cell phone.I’m not quite the last person I know to start a blog, but it’s certainly past due, especially with friends and family scattered all over the world. Or at least on continents other than the one where I currently reside. I recently moved to China. And that’s the real impetus for finally starting one of these new fangled gizmos.
 
On the name of my blog:
When I started programming (25 years ago, as of this writing), it was for the express purpose of making games. One of the things that frustrated me early on was how everytime I ran my program, it would start the same, even though I tried to use random numbers. One day, I discovered that you had to "seed" the random number generator if you didn’t want the random numbers to be the same every time, and you would only get a different sequence of random numbers if you provide different seeds (still true today). Anytime we have major changes in life, it’s like a new seed to the random generator, bringing yet a new pattern of events. 
 
And so it begins.
About Curt Carpenter

Father of 2, development manager at Microsoft, boardgamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And so it begins

  1. Charlie says:

    Welcome to China !!

Leave a Reply

